What is the idea behind MaskFactory?

Caldera launched MaskFactory because we wanted to help our printing customers, especially those who manufacture printed sportswear. Due to the COVID-19 health crisis and the suspension of sports competitions, these companies need to find new customers to secure the jobs of their employees.

Thus, as an IT company, Caldera wanted to create a sales platform that would allow its customers to sell their products to the general public and thus help them maintain or relaunch their business. The platform is free of charge for Caldera certified customers. 

What is a barrier mask?

A barrier mask (also known as a "barrier mask" device) is a protective mask designed to complement  social distancing rules. It is intended for the general public.

The barrier mask in no way exonerates the user from the systematic application of barrier gestures, which are essential, as well as the rules of social distancing aimed at fighting viral infections.

This device is not intended for use by healthcare personnel in contact with patients. FFP2 type filtering masks and masks for medical (or surgical) use are intended to be used and reserved for healthcare personnel.

The health instructions are presented on the French government's website.

What is the AFNOR standard?

AFNOR has worked on a document that establishes the standards and specifications for barrier masks.  This standard specifies the minimum manufacturing, design and performance requirements, as well as the test methods for barrier masks, which may be reusable, intended to reduce the risk factor of general transmission of the infectious agent.

The AFNOR barrier mask device is neither a medical device within the meaning of Regulation UE/2017/745, nor personal protective equipment within the meaning of Regulation UE/2016/425. This standard harmonises the minimum requirements applicable to alternative devices to respiratory protection masks and surgical masks and supports potential manufacturers of these barrier masks.

When is the wearing of a barrier mask recommended?

The use of a barrier mask is advised for example for a person leaving home to go to the place of work or to make essential purchases in licensed establishments. This device can contribute to the protection of an entire group wearing this barrier mask.

How long do I have to wear my mask?

According to AFNOR, wearing a mask for half a day provides a protective barrier against possible viral penetration in the mouth and nose area of the user or a person in the vicinity. Its purpose is to protect this area from any contact with the hands. It is therefore advisable to change the mask or wash it regularly.

How often can I wash my mask?

Our masks are designed for approximately 30 washes. Washing relaxes the threads which become less tight and therefore less effective. We therefore recommend changing your masks after this number of washes.

Where are the masks made?

Our masks are manufactured (printed, mounted and sewn) by our printing customers, small and medium sized companies and French printers. 

Are there children's sizes?

The AFNOR does not provide an approved/certified size for children. The organisation recommends a single size of barrier mask from a 20 cm x 20 cm template.

How should I wash my mask?

It is not recommended to use specific products other than the usual detergent without first ensuring that they are not toxic through inhaled residues and that their use does not degrade the materials. The complete washing cycle (wetting, washing, rinsing) must be at least 30 minutes with a washing temperature of 60° C.

How is my mask printed?

Our masks are printed by sublimation on printers using eco-solvent or water-based inks. Only the outer fabric is printed.

We advise you to wash your mask in the washing machine at 60°C the first time before wearing it.

How many masks do you recommend?

We recommend changing masks every day and washing them every evening after wearing them. In order to optimise the alternation between wearing and washing, we advise each member of the family to have 2 masks.

Does wearing a mask replace barrier gestures?

The mask does not in any way exempt the user from the application of barrier gestures which are essential

Quelle est l’idée à l’origine du site Maskfactory ?

Nous avons voulu venir en aide à nos clients imprimeurs et notamment ceux qui fabriquent des tenues de sport imprimées. Avec les interdictions liées au confinement dû au COVID19 et notamment l’arrêt des compétitions sportives, leurs entreprises ont besoin de trouver de nouveaux clients pour pérenniser les emplois de leurs salariés.

Ainsi, en tant que société informatique, Caldera a voulu créer une plateforme de vente qui permette à ses clients PME de vendre leurs produits au grand public et ainsi les aider à maintenir ou relancer leur activité. La plateforme est gratuite pour les clients Caldera certifiés. 

Qu’est ce qu’un masque barrière ?

Un masque barrière (on parle aussi de dispositif « masque barrière ») est un masque de protection destiné à compléter les gestes barrières et les règles de distanciation sociale. Il est destiné au grand public.

Le masque barrière n’exonère aucunement l’utilisateur de l’application systématique des gestes barrières, qui sont essentiels, ainsi que des règles de distanciation sociale visant à lutter contre les infections virales.

Ce dispositif n’est pas destiné à être utilisé par les personnels soignants en contact avec les patients. Les masques filtrants de type FFP2 et les masques à usage médical (ou chirurgicaux) ont vocation à être utilisés et réservés au personnel de santé.

Les consignes sanitaires sont présentées sur le site du gouvernement français :

https://www.gouvernement.fr/info-coronavirus.

Qu’est ce que la norme AFNOR ?

L’AFNOR a travaillé sur un document qui établit les normes et spécifications des masques barrières.  Cette norme spécifie les exigences minimales de fabrication, de conception et de performance, ainsi que les méthodes d’essai relatives aux masques barrières, éventuellement réutilisables, destinés à diminuer le facteur de risque de transmission générale de l’agent infectieux.

Le dispositif masque barrière AFNOR n’est ni un dispositif médical au sens du Règlement UE/2017/745, ni un équipement de protection individuelle au sens du Règlement UE/2016/425.

Cette norme permet d’harmoniser les exigences minimales applicables aux dispositifs alternatifs aux masques de protection respiratoire et masques chirurgicaux et vient en appui des fabricants potentiels de ces masques barrières.

Quand est-ce que le port d’un masque barrière est recommandé ?

L’utilisation du masque barrière est envisagée par exemple pour une personne quittant son domicile pour se rendre sur le lieu d’exercice de l’activité professionnelle ou pour effectuer des achats de première nécessité dans des établissements autorisés. Ce dispositif peut contribuer à la protection de l’ensemble d’un groupe portant ce masque barrière.

Combien de temps dois-je porter mon masque ?

Selon l’AFNOR, son port limité à une demi-journée permet de constituer une barrière de protection contre une éventuelle pénétration virale dans la zone bouche et nez de son utilisateur ou d’une personne se trouvant à proximité. Il a pour vocation de protéger cette zone de tout contact avec les mains.

Il est donc conseillé de changer de masque ou le laver régulièrement.

Combien de fois puis-je laver mon masque ?

Nos masques sont prévus pour environ 30 lavages. Le lavage détend les fils qui deviennent moins serrés et donc moins efficaces. Nous recommandons donc d’en changer passé ce nombre de lavages.

 

Où sont fabriqués les masques ?

Nos masques sont fabriqués (imprimés, montés et cousus) par nos clients, des PME et artisans imprimeurs français. 

Existe-il des tailles enfants ?

L’AFNOR ne prévoit pas de taille homologuée/certifiée pour les enfants. L’organisation préconise une taille unique de masque barrière à partir d’un gabarit de 20 cm x 20 cm.

Comment dois-je laver mon masque ?

Il n’est pas recommandé d’utiliser des produits spécifiques autres que la lessive habituelle sans s’être assuré auparavant de leur non toxicité par des résidus inhalés, et que leurs utilisations ne dégradent pas les matériaux. Le cycle complet de lavage (mouillage, lavage, rinçage) doit être de 30 minutes minimum avec une température de lavage de 60° C.

 

Comment est imprimé mon masque ?

Nos masques sont imprimés par sublimation sur des imprimantes à base d’encres éco-solvants ou à base d’encres à l’eau. Seul le tissu extérieur est imprimé.

Nous vous conseillons de laver votre masque au lave-linge à 60°C une première fois avant de le porter.

 

Combien de masques me conseillez-vous ?

Nous conseillons de changer de masques tous les jours et de les laver tous les soirs après les avoir portés. Afin d’optimiser l’alternance port et lavage, nous conseillons à chaque membre de la famille d’avoir 2 masques.

Est-ce que le port d’un masque remplace les gestes barrières ?

Le masque n'exonère absolument pas l'utilisateur de l'application des gestes barrières qui sont essentiels. (https://www.gouvernement.fr/info-coronavirus)